Sunday , May 26 2019
Home / business / Russia has officially received a piece of the Caspian sea

Russia has officially received a piece of the Caspian sea

Россия официально получила кусок Каспийского моряRussia and four other countries share the Caspian sea. It took 22 years of negotiations

The presidents of Russia, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Iran and Turkmenistan signed the Convention on the legal status of the Caspian sea.

According to the document, each country will establish in the Caspian sea border of their territorial waters of a width not exceeding 15 nautical miles. The main area of the water surface of the sea will remain in common use, the bottom and subsoil of the Caspian States are divided among themselves.

In addition, the Convention prohibits the presence in the Caspian sea of the armed forces of third-party States.

Read also: Russia will soon lose the Caspian sea, scientists

“The document puts an end to the harmonization of the positions of Russia, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan and Iran on Caspian sea status, which lasted for 22 years because of the fundamental differences between riparian countries,” – said in the message

© 2018, All rights reserved.

Check Also

Kozak commented on reports about the upcoming increase in gasoline prices

The government believes that independent gas stations don’t need to worry about a possible increase …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *